Allowing the brush to dance….

My Life as an Artist (2)

In this rapid watercolour/gouache study of flowers from my friend’s garden in Wiltshire, I have allowed the brush to dance….

P1130306

I used paper which had been grounded with cadmium orange – note it was part of a larger image which hadn’t worked for me and so I cut it up into four pieces to use for smaller sketches.      A  colour ground should be applied to paper at least 24 hours prior to working.

P1130295

Using a mix of Opera Rose gouache – plus a little permanent white gouache I rapidly indicate the flower heads….I use Cotman dioxazine violet and Cotman Alizarin crimson to indicate the darker areas of the flower.

P1130296

Allowing my brush to dance across the surface, using a mix of burnt sienna and prussian bluewatercolour, I begin to indicate the stems and leaves.   I have also added a little Winsor & Newton green gold

View original post 162 more words

Leave a Reply

