A Gulf Fritillary Butterfly Sits On My Finger…

Priya Ghose Photography

A Gulf Fritillary Butterfly Sits On My Finger...

A Gulf Fritillary Butterfly (Agraulis vanillae), newly emerged from its chrysalis, sits on my finger before taking its first flight.

I’ve written a bit about the life cycle of the gulf frittilary butterfly here but just wanted to share another photo of one of these cuties, lightly tickling my finger. There are currently many female gulf frittilary butterflies flying about the garden, looking to lay their eggs. They are so intent on their purpose that they completely ignore me as I come up close; I watch them lay eggs on passionflower vine leaves, tendrils, and even flowers.

Click the image to purchase a print of ‘Time To Fly’ Gulf Fritillary Butterfly Photography

View original post

Leave a Reply

