Barriers in Treatment of Chronic Pain Patients

Joint Issues

“I also had begun to understand that living with severe chronic pain is as bad as dying with it-and lasts longer.” – Mary Baluss, Esq.

When I think about chronic pain, what comes to mind is the complexity of my relationship with it.

Chronic pain becomes that constant companion you take for granted. It has been by your side moment-to-moment from washing your hair in the morning (or afternoon) to going out with a friend later that day and coping…always coping even in your most joyful moments sometimes. I think of how much energy I take in the morning, or sometimes the afternoon, to style my hair nicely, take care of my skin, and put on a little make-up. These things help me feel ‘normal,’ because to an outsider looking in, my appearance and manner suggests ‘nothing is wrong here.’

Sometimes, when I’ve felt I couldn’t take another step in…

View original post 2,016 more words

Leave a Reply

